ブリュッセル Brussels 02


(第121回)芸術の丘、小便小僧、グラン・プラス、ギャルリー・サン・チュベール、ベルギー・チョコレート、ブリュッセル・ワッフル(ブリュッセル、ベルギー)
The Mont des Arts, Manneken Pis, the Grand Place, the Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert, the Belgian chocolate and the Brussels waffle (Brussels, Belgium)

  1. The Mont des Arts
  2. Manneken Pis
  3. The Grand Place
  4. The Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert

The Mont des Arts芸術の丘は、王宮とグラン・プラスの間にある歴史的な広場です。アルベール1世の騎馬像が、広場に立っています。
The Mont des Arts (the Mount of the Arts) is the historic square situated between the Royal Palace and the Grand Place. An equestrian statue of Albert I stands in the square.

The Mont des Arts芸術の丘の場所は、かつては人口が密集した場所でした。レオポルド2世は、この一帯を買い取り、1910年にブリュッセルで開かれた万国博覧会のために一時的な庭園を建設しました。庭園は、都市再開発計画の中心として新しい広場を作るために撤去され、ベルギー王立図書館などの大きな構造物が、1956~1958年に建てられました。
The site of the Mont des Arts used to be a densely populated neighbourhood. King Leopold II bought the whole neighbourhood and built a temporary garden on the hill for the Universal Exposition held in Brussels in 1910. The garden was demolished to create a new square as the centre of the urban renewal project and massive structures such as the Royal Library of Belgium were built from 1956 to 1958.

The Mont des Arts芸術の丘は、ブリュッセルにおいて最も景色が素晴らしい場所の一つです。高くなった場所からは、グラン・プラスにある有名な市庁舎の塔がはっきりと見えます。
The Mont des Arts offers one of the finest views in Brussels. The famous tower of the Brussels Town Hall in the Grand Place is clearly visible from the elevated vantage point.

Manneken Pis小便小僧が、噴水の水盆に放尿しています。この小さな青銅の像は、61センチメートルで、本来は裸です。小便小僧は、1618年または1619年に設置されました。現在の像は、1965年にさかのぼる複製で、オリジナルの像は、ブリュッセル市立博物館に所蔵されています。
Manneken Pis (Little man Pee) is urinating into a basin of a fountain. This small bronze statue is 61 centimetres tall and is naturally naked. The statue was put in place in 1618 or 1619. The current statue is a copy which dates from 1965 and the original is kept in the Museum of the City of Brussels.

Manneken Pis小便小僧は、ブリュッセルの人々の最もよく知られた象徴です小便小僧は、彼らのユーモアのセンスと精神の独立を具象しています。
Manneken Pis is the most familiar symbol of the people of Brussels. The statue also embodies their sense of humour and their independence of mind.

Manneken PisManneken Pis小便小僧は、毎週数回衣装を着ます。小便小僧は、およそ1000着の異なる衣装を持っています。衣装の多くは、グラン・プラスのブリュッセル市立博物館の常設展示で見ることができるかもしれません。また、2017年に小便小僧の衣装の博物館が開館しました。衣装を時折使用することは、ほぼ鋳造された時期にさかのぼります。ブリュッセル市立博物館に展示されている最も古い衣装は、17世紀にさかのぼります。目録によると、小便小僧は1756年には5つの衣装一式をもっていました。衣装の着替えは、色とりどりのセレモニーで、しばしば吹奏楽隊の音楽を伴います。
Manneken Pis is dressed in costumes, several times each week. He has around 1,000 different costumes. Many of his costumes may be viewed in a permanent exhibition inside the City Museum in the Grand Place. Furthermore, the museum for the costumes was open in 2017. The occasional use of costumes dates back almost to the date of casting. The oldest costume on display in the City Museum dates from the 17th century. An inventory shows he had 5 complete costumes in 1756. The changing of the costume on the statue is a colourful ceremony and is often accompanied by brass band music.

Brusselsブリュッセルには、たくさんのチョコレート店があります。ベルギー・チョコレート産業は、19世紀世紀以降ベルギーの主要な産業です。ベルギー・チョコレートは、今日ではベルギーの文化の重要な位置を形成しています。メリー・チョコレートは、ベルギーの主要なチョコレートメーカーの一つで、1919年に設立されました。
There are a lot of chocolate shops in Brussels. The Belgian chocolate industry has been a major industry of Belgium since the 19th century. The Belgian chocolate today forms an important part of the Belgian culture. The Mary chocolate shop is one of the major chocolate makers of the country and was established in 1919.

The Grand Placeグラン・プラス大広場または大市場)は、ブリュッセルの中心の広場です。グラン・プラスは、11世紀の終わりまでにブリュッセルの初期の砦の近くに設置された市場を起源としています。グラン・プラスは、市庁舎、王の家(ブリュッセル市立博物館がある)、多くの華やかなギルドの建物に囲まれています。グラン・プラスは、68メートルかける110メートルの広さがあります。グラン・プラスは、ブリュッセルにおいて、最も重要な観光客の目当てであり、最も記憶に残るランドマークです。グラン・プラスは、また、ヨーロッパで最も美しい広場の一つと言われています。
The Grand Place (Grand Square or Grand Market) is the central square of Brussels. The square originated from a market set up near the early fort of Brussels by the end of the 11th century. The square is surrounded by the Town Hall, the King’s House (containing the Museum of the City of Brussels) and many opulent guild houses. The square measures 68 by 110 metres. The square is the most important tourist destination and most memorable landmark in Brussels. The square is also considered as one of the most beautiful squares in Europe.

The Grand PlaceThe Grand PlaceThe Grand Placeブリュッセル市庁舎は、グラン・プラスの中心の大建築です。市庁舎は、1402~1455年の間に何段階かに分けられてグラン・プラスの南面に建設されました。市庁舎は、唯一の現存するグラン・プラスの中世の建物です。ゴシック様式の塔は、96メートルの高さがあります。聖ミカエルの像が、塔の上に立っています。聖ミカエルも像は、5メートルも高さがあり、悪魔を倒そうとしています。聖ミカエルは、ブリュッセルの守護聖人です。
The Brussels Town Hall is the central edifice on the Grand Place. The hall was built on the south side of the square in several stages from 1402 to 1455. The hall is also the only remaining medieval building of the square. The Gothic tower is 96 meters high. The statue of St. Michael stands atop of the tower. The statue is 5 meters tall and is slaying a devil. St. Michael is the patron saint of Brussels.

The Grand Place王の家は、1504~1536年に、ブリュッセル市庁舎の自治体の力の象徴に対抗するブラバント公の権力の象徴として、ブラバント公によって、市庁舎の向かいに、建てられました。王の家は、12世紀以降のパン市場と置き換わりましたので、オランダ語では「パンの家」と呼ばれ続けています。王の家は、アウクスブルク同盟戦争の最中の1695年のフランス軍の砲撃の後に再建され、再び、1868年にゴシック・リヴァイヴァル様式で再建されました。王の家は、1887年以来ブリュッセル市博物館になっています。
The King’s House was built on the opposite to the Town Hall by the Duke of Brabant as symbol of ducal power to counter the symbol of municipal power of the town hall from 1504 to 1536. The building continues to be called the Broodhuis (the Bread Hall) in Dutch because the building replaced the bread markets dating from the 12th century. The building was rebuilt after the bombardment by French forces in 1695 during the War of the League of Augsburg and again was rebuilt in the Gothic Revival style in 1868. The building has housed the Museum of the City of Brussels since 1887.

The Grand Placeグラン・プラスは、その歴史の中で、多くの悲劇を目撃しました。最初のプロテスタントの殉教者であるヘンドリク・フォエスとヤン・ファン・エッセンは、1523年にグラン・プラスで宗教裁判によって火刑に処されました。エフモント伯ラモラール・ファン・エフモントとホールン伯フィリップ・ド・モンモランシーは、スペイン領ネーデルラントにおけるフェリペ2世の政策に異を唱えたため、1568年に王の家の前で打ち首になりました。これが、スペイン支配に対するオラニエ公ウィレム1世に率いられた武装された反乱の始まりの引き金になりました。
The Grand Place witnessed many tragic events unfold during its history. The first Protestant martyrs (who were Henri Voes and Jean Van Eschen) were burnt by the Inquisition on the square in 1523. Lamoral (Count of Egmont) and Philip de Montmorency (Count of Horn) were beheaded in front of the King’s House (the Breadhouse) in 1568 because they had spoken out against the policies of King Philip II in the Spanish Netherlands. This triggered the beginning of the armed revolt led by William I (Prince of Orange) against Spanish rule.

The Grand Placeグラン・プラスは、アウクスブルク同盟戦争の最中の1695年に、フランス軍による大砲と臼砲の凄まじい砲撃によって、破壊されました。市庁舎の塔が砲火の第1の的になりましたが、市庁舎の石の外壁のみが残りました。グラン・プラスは、ブリュッセルのギルドによって続く4年をかけて再建されました。
The Grand Place was destroyed by the massive bombardment with cannons and mortars by the French forces in 1695 during the War of the League of Augsburg. Only the stone shell of the Town Hall survived though the tower of the town hall was the principal target of the artillery fire. The square was rebuilt in the following 4 years by the guilds of the town.

The Grand PlaceThe Grand Placeゴディバ・ショコラティエの最初のお店は、1926年にグラン・プラスで開店しました。
The first shop of Godiva Chocolatier was opened in the Grand Place in 1926.

BrusselsBrusselsグラン・プラスの隣にある小さな広場に出ました。広場には、かつてのブリュッセル市長の噴水があります。彼は、19世紀半ばにグラン・プラスの修復を行いました。
You have come to a small square next to the Grand Place. There is the fountain of Mayor Charles Buls in the square. He was a mayor of Brussels and restored the Grand Place at the middle of the 19th century.

The Galeries Royales Saint-Hubertギャルリー・サン・チュベールは、まばゆいショッピングアーケードです。ギャルリー・サン・チュベールは、1846~1847年に建てられました。ギャルリー・サン・チュベールは、ジョルジョ・ヴァザーリによってイタリアのルネサンス様式で建てられたフィレンツェのウッフィーツィ美術館を遠い起源とする一対の規則的なファサードを特徴としています。ギャルリー・サン・チュベールは、2つの主要なギャラリー(王のギャラリーと女王のギャラリー)と小さなギャラリー(王子のギャラリー)で構成されています。主要なギャラリーは、それぞれ100メートルも長さがあり、ギャルリー・サン・チュベールを横切る通りが交わる点の柱廊によって分けられます。
The Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert is a brilliant shopping arcade. The gallery complex was built from 1846 to 1847. The gallery complex features twin regular facades with distant origins in the Uffizi in Florence built in the Italian Renaissance style by Giorgio Vasari. The gallery complex consists of 2 major galleries (King’s Gallery and Queen’s Gallery) and a smaller side gallery (Gallery of the Princes). The major sections are 100 metres long respectively and are separated by a colonnade at the point where a street crosses the gallery complex.

The Galeries Royales Saint-HubertThe Galeries Royales Saint-HubertThe Galeries Royales Saint-HubertThe Galeries Royales Saint-Hubertギャルリー・サン・チュベールは、たくさんの、あらゆるレストランだけではなく、高級服飾店、時計店、チョコレート店のホームです。毎年600万人が、ギャルリー・サン・チュベールを訪れます。
The Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert is home to a lot of luxury boutiques, clockmakers and chocolate shops as well as all sorts of restaurants. Around 6 million people visit here every year.

The Brussels waffleベルギーには、ブリュッセル・ワッフルやリェージュ・ワッフルなどのいくつもの地域による種類のワッフルがあります。ブリュッセル・ワッフルは、軽くて、サクサクで、他のヨーロッパのワッフルに比べて大きなポケットがあります。長方形であることから、リェージュ・ワッフルとは簡単に区別がつきます。リェージュ・ワッフルは、より濃厚で甘い生地です。
Belgium has over a dozen regional varieties of waffle such as the Brussels waffle and the Liège waffle. Brussels waffles are lighter, crisper and have larger pockets compared to other European waffle varieties. They are easy to differentiate from Liège Waffles by their rectangular sides. Liège waffles are richer, denser and sweeter.

次回も続いて、ブリュッセルを歩きます。それではまた!
You are going to walk around Brussels continuously next time. See you later.